Post-Easter debrief

The best game I ever bowled was 200. Every frame was either a strike or a spare. I had visions of becoming a pro. My next game I scored a 67. So much for the career.

bowling.jpeg

Easter weekends do that to a pastor. The place is packed. Every service. Plus the Video Cafés at every service. We were able to fit about 300 more people that way.

The Classic service had a sunrise breakfast. Hot Cross Buns! In the worship, we were scrambling to set up extra chairs.

Everybody’s excited. Scrubbed. Dressed up. It’s a great weekend. I just hope I don’t bowl a 67 next week.

manorah.jpeg

It was the first time I ever used manure in a sermon. The real thing. I had a big bag of the stuff up on stage. You had to be there. Or you can click the SERMONS link above in the header. My mother-in-law (a.k.a. Grandma) wasn’t at the service. At Easter Dinner, my wife asked her aunt if the manure grossed her out (they’re germicidal warriors as a clan). Grandma asked, who would be grossed out by manure? She has two manures. She puts them up at Christmas. After a little while, we figured out the problem. We said manure. She heard manorah.

manure.jpeg

A big thank you to everybody in all our services who did such a great job. You guys are great. Thank you for being so faithful to Jesus.

cross.jpeg

After Easter Dinner at Grandma’s we had some friends to our house. We did another Easter egg hunt. I finally crashed on the family room sofa around 9:15.

The best part of all:  At the end of each Easter service, I gave an invitation for people to receive Jesus, and over 120 people responded! Here’s the verse I spoke about…

“Who then will condemn us? Will Christ Jesus? No, for he is the one who died for us and was raised to life for us and is sitting at the place of highest honor next to God, pleading for us.” Romans 8:34, NLT.

I guess I should use manure more often, huh?

A quick plug for our next series of messages at Neighborhood Church…

Do you have any CRAZY PEOPLE in your life? Extended family? Crazy roommates? Spouse, kids, in-laws? Boss? Friends? Next weekend we’ll begin a series of messages called LIVING LARGE WITH O.P.C.* (*Other People’s Craziness). Based on the book in the Bible called Esther.

One thought on “Post-Easter debrief

  1. I have to say that I am very encouraged to be a part of what God is doing in Weaverville. Of the over 120 people who answered the invitation to receive Jesus Christ as Savior, one was in Weaverville and he is a good friend of mine. He has been searching for answers and asking questions for weeks. He also has been part of our Thursday night iGroup since it started. It’s exciting to know that the Holy Spirit was working throughout the NCR network of venues this Easter weekend and I pray that it continues. Continue to pray for and support if you can, the Outpost in Weaverville.

Comments are closed.