Thailand Sex Industry

One of the guys I went to college with is Jim Larson. We were freshman together at Wheaton College. I only went there one year, mainly because I couldn’t afford it any more than that. So I lost contact with a lot of my Wheaton College friends.

Jim however graduated and went on to launch a great ministry.

thailandthewell.jpg

Jim recently emailed me. It was a totally cool blast from the past.

Even better is the ministry that Jim is doing. He moved his whole family (except one grown up kid) to Bangkok, Thailand. They’ve moved into the middle of the prostitution district. They are helping rescue young girls out of a life of prostitution and sex-slavery.  Amazing stuff.

night_life1.jpg

The ministry is called The Well (for similar reasons that my church’s young adult service is called The Well).

The Well primarily operates by showing unconditional love to these heartbroken, exploited young women. They provide housing and shelter. They also provide job-training so these women can make an income some other way than selling their bodies/souls.

studentsstudying.jpg     I’m really proud of and humbled by Jim and his family. If you want to read something really powerful, check out Jim’s blog.   It’s indescribably sad what these girls have to go through.  Jim tells the story in a way that is sensitive, but it’s still heart-wrenchingly graphic, so you’ve been warned.

You can also visit the ministry’s website: The Well.

How about sending up a quick prayer for Jim and The Well in Thailand?

“And the King will tell them, ‘I assure you, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’” Matthew 25:40, NLT. 

One thought on “Thailand Sex Industry

  1. Bill,

    Awesome ministry that Jim has, actually was at NBC when you were teaching pastor, miss the word from the ‘perfect pastor’ and his fam.

    I helped Jim get some of this stuff off the ground and the Lord totally used Jim to suck me into a radically devoted life to Christ.

    Glad to hear you are doing well.

    Matt

Comments are closed.