Book rave: The Dangerous Book *****

jdbd.jpgMy son was born on Christmas Day, 2002. We hold his birthday party in June. This prevents a ripped-off childhood. Yesterday we hosted a really fun “Spiderman” party, complete with a home-made scratch cake made by my wife, Margi (a.k.a. “Move Over Martha.”)

His main present from me was a book. And what a great book it is! Every dad, every kid, every man that I’ve shown this book to has loved it. They all said the wanted to buy it for their sons (though I know they just want it for themselves… having a son provides a convenient excuse)…

The publisher expects to sell 4 million in America (it’s already captivated the U.K.).

The book is called…

The Dangerous Book for Boys

I love this book. Five out of five stars. http://wiseguysnewsletter.blogspot.com/

It’s a new book, but it looks a hundred years old. This book tells a boy how to handle a jackknife, how to make a world-class paper airplane, how to make a periscope, how to read cloud formations, and the dots and dashes of Morse code.

It teaches a boy not to taunt a girl, but to help her. And warns him that a girl will not be as interested in using urine as invisible ink as a boy.

I would have loved this book as a kid.

It even teaches a boy how to skin a rabbit! Wanna know how? Sure…

rabbitskin.jpg “If you have a heavy-bladed cleaver, simply chop off the four paws. If you are stuck with only a penknife, break the forearm bones with a quick jerk, then cut the skin around the break in a ring. Remove the head in the same way. A serrated edge will cut through the bones, but a standard kitchen knife is likely to be damaged if used as a chopper.”

I have a date with my kids to build a treehouse next year. The book shows how. My son, who cannot read and is four, spent lots of time today leafing through his book. He got excited when he saw the pirate flag.

J.D. thinks that every picture is a “how to” chapter. So I just overheard him explain to Josie that the book shows “How to make a dinosaur.” And, “How to make a pyramid.” Josie replied, “I think only God can make a dinosaur.”

jdbd_1.jpg

The authors are two brothers who want to put some of the fight back into boys and men. I think this is a great development.

And I think the book is the fruition of a slowly percolating men’s movement that is good for America, good for families, and good for the Church.

Go to the bookstore and just look at it. Be prepared to spend money, though. You might not be able to put it down.

 

father son
Or, you can buy the book through the link blow. I make a percentage (it’s a sliding scale, depending on
volume) of each purchase, and I will donate all the money I receive from this book to a special fund at our church. It’s called the Latte Factor Fund, and it’s helping fund a remodel of our children’s space, an outreach in a rural town an hour away, and expanded internet presence.

Click HERE… and while you’re there, you can sign up for WISEGUYS! theological newsletter.

4 thoughts on “Book rave: The Dangerous Book *****

  1. Great question! I haven’t tried it yet. Why do you, and let me know how it goes?
    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. Bill–My son sat with us this weekend’s service….he can’t stop asking for me to buy this book! I am caving in, for sure, by the way.

  3. I must selfishly admit, I love to be ahead of the rest. Being one step in front of Bill, well, I could have never imagined that. For this I take a bow and tip my hat…to myself and by myself. Oh the impact I have.

    My beautiful wife, an excellent librarian, purchased this book for me a few months ago. Before even opening this book I found the cover entrancing and an immediate throw back to those memorable days in Cub scouts. As a matter of fact, this book feels much like my Cub Scout and Boy Scout manuals. As Bill mentioned, it includes everything from how to make a paper airplane to how to treat and present oneself to girls. Did you know that girls are as nervous around you as you are around them?

    Do we need a revival in manliness? I do not know. I like what sensitivity breeds, although not necessarily as new forming cultural habits. Regardless, I love what this book reinforces for me and my boys; time well spent exploring the world around us and how things work, consideration for others, imagination, ingenuity, non idle hands, etc.

    I just realized, this post is a blatant admittance that I was not ahead of anyone. This book was gifted to me and, therefore, it wasn’t my idea. I now slowly settle back into my world of behindedness.[1]

    Thom

    [1] Behindedness is not a word. However, it is the most appropriate word/non-word for this context.

Comments are closed.