US Education Owes an Apology to Her…

You know how you put your iPod on shuffle? Sometimes people put their vocabulary on shuffle. Here’s an example from Miss Teen America… transcription follows.

I personally believe that U.S. Americans are unable to do so, because uh Osama peeple out there in our nation don’t have maps and uhh I believe that our education like such as in South Africa and uh Diarrhak, everywhere like such as, and I believe that they shoulda our education over here in the U.S. should help the US or should help South Africa and should help Diarrhak and the Asian countries so we will be able to build up our future…… for it.

There, but for the grace of God…

3 thoughts on “US Education Owes an Apology to Her…

  1. Oh man….I’ve given a few lectures where I’ve done similar things…it all goes south the minute you start to think, “What did I just say?” Then you analyze every word…and it comes out like that.

    poor girl.

  2. was there a spiritual lesson in this? i feel badly for this young woman.

    yes, it seems true that our educational systems leave many kids behind…..unless a child takes initiative, they learn by rote and are not taught to think and the real lessons of history are not taught and sometimes even obfuscated (knowing the truth but deceiving anyway).

  3. OK, the transcription makes it worse than it is (I hope). “Osama peeple”…uh some uh people. I’ll give her a pass on “Diarrhak”…Iraq. I guess not having a map is as good a reason as any for not being able to locate one’s country on a map. And I agree that we should help other countries as well as our own.

    She certainly seems self confident!

    Todd told us that fear of public speaking ranks above fear of death. I can see why–especially with the danger of landing on You Tube.

Comments are closed.