Dad Update

prayertime.jpeg2Sa 22:7 In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry entered into his ears.

Thank you so much for praying about and asking about my Dad, Roy. Dad underwent extensive oral surgery to remove a tumor on his tongue. The procedure involved replacing about 40% of his tongue with a skin flap from a donor site. His surgery lasted 10 hours and he was kept under anesthesia for the next day too. The surgery went without complication, which was an answer to prayer. The size of the tumor was bigger than expected; but this only validated the decision to proceed with the surgery anyway.

The major issue my dad faces is rehab. He must teach his (painful, sliced, stitched- to-skin-without-nerve-or-muscles) tongue to SWALLOW and to SPEAK. Swallowing comes first. He has been moved to a rehab hospital and will begin a daily THREE HOUR tongue workout. Ouch! My heart goes out to him. Our family is trying coordinate our visits to help him and to help those who are helping him.

The 2nd day in the rehab hospital, my cousin who has been taking care of him (they’re good friends and both live in Florida together) was rushed for emergency surgery. My mom, Dorothy, who also is taking care of him, came down with shingles. So the rest of us are figuring out when and where and how to care for him, though my mom’s on the mend. The big issue for her is being contagious to him.

Through it all Dad has been courageous. He has this “Let’s Roll” spirit going on, and I’m so proud of him. He actually SPOKE A WORD, which freaked out everybody because that’s not supposed to happen for months. He is ahead of schedule on recovery, and off of pain meds. He’s a tough old Italian. I love him and can’t wait to get him up and running and speaking and swallowing again. He still has a long road ahead, including radiation. But the Lord of Radiation is on his side, and that’s all my comfort.

[I continue to forward your encouraging comments to him;  reading them has become a highlight of his day.]

  • Ps 34:15 The eyes of the LORD are upon the righteous, and his ears are open to their cry.
  • Ps 94:9 He that planted the ear, shall he not hear? he that formed the eye, shall he not see?
  • Isa 59:1 Behold, the LORD’S hand is not shortened, that it cannot save; neither his ear heavy, that it cannot hear:
  • Isa 65:24 And it shall come to pass, that before they call, I will answer; and while they are yet speaking, I will hear.
4 thoughts on “Dad Update

  1. 3 hours a day? oh man…… i’ll bet he’s stubborn and tough enough to do it. and i wouldn’t be surprised if he practices outside of class…… ’cause, i can’t imagine an italian not talking………

  2. Bill~

    I read your blog regularly but never comment (I can’t keep up with the level that most who comment can). I just wanted to tell you that I’m glad your dad is doing so well. I will continue to pray for him as well as for you and the family as I have done since coming to Neighborhood.

  3. Mr. G,
    I don’t know you but you are in my prayers. We sound like an amazing man. We have a common bond, I am 100% Italian, so who knows…maybe we have family in the mob…lol May Jesus continue to heal you, keep you in His loving arms and bring you back to you family soon!

Comments are closed.