How does this work?

I ask sincerely, how does this work?

Look at this picture close up and then far away. From close up, it’s Albert Einstein. From far away (15 feet or so), it’s Marilyn Monroe. How? Why? What’s going on here? Where am I?

It also works if you make the picture bigger or smaller. It also works, but not as well, if you squint just right. Unbelievable, huh? Life changing, isn’t it?

Weird.

Oh wow!  I just printed it out, and it works that way too.

I need a nap.

7 thoughts on “How does this work?

  1. OK, I just have to comment again…

    It’s the HEAT, and NO earthquakes or cougars that is causing this “weirdness” in your perception! I truly don’t think a nap will help much! The body and brain can only tolerate intense heat for a short time, like two seconds!!

  2. This reminds me of that classicial optical illusion of the old/young woman (where you see two distinct images in the same picture) —

    Joe

  3. It’s all about perception and where your focus is. Perception was always a fun unit when I taught psychology, the difference between what hits our eyeball and how our brain interprets it. One thing we did was view a film clip and then have all the students record what happened. I got as many different stories as kids reporting. What happened when we all saw the same thing? Hmm, perception and focus, are you trying to teach us a spiritual lesson here?
    Suzanne

  4. I guess that explains her divorces. When Joe DiMaggio or Arthur Miller got up close to kiss her…aaaaaugh!

    Seriously, I think it works because e=mc(squared). Sorry. I don’t know how to make the superscript 2.

  5. The illusion is based on the spacial resolution of the rods and cones on the back of your eye. There are two components to the image, a blurry image and a fine line image. When you are close to the image, the eye is able to resolve the fine lines of the fine line image, your brain places an emphasis on the fine line portion of the image. When you stand back away from the image, your eye does not have the resolution to see the fine lines, and the blurry image is what the brain process…

    Clear as mud.

  6. Dan,
    Brilliant! This explains a great mystery to me: How Julia Roberts married Lyle Lovett. (yeah, I know it’s over now, but still…) She must have bad rods and cones!

    Bob

Comments are closed.