Coming Soon to a Bookstore Near You…

It’s getting closer to release! I’m very excited. The editor just sent me the official cover of my first book. It’s weirdly surreal to see your name on a book cover. I think they did a great job on it. I like the stop motion picture. It really captures what the book is about.

Right now the book is in final editing. This is done by some very detail-oriented people who check every comma, bible reference, and letter. I should receive a draft copy by the end of June. After final proofreading and minor changes, it goes to press in August.

Release date is March, 2009. If you want me to notify you, please sign up for the newsletter by clicking the mobster on the top right of this page. Here’s the kind of copy that might, conceivably, wind up on the back cover.

How to Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World exposes a motley crew of inner characters including your Inner Saint, Inner Sinner, Inner Brat, Inner Church-lady, Inner Felon and Inner Pervert. You may fight them, punish them or deny them. But you will not, by sheer will-power, control them. As Augustine said, “we cannot tame the beasts in our own bosom.”

But Jesus can. And he will, though his method will surprise you. You will never rise above your Inner Mess by punishing it, guilt-tripping it, or even by fighting it. You can only bring peace to your Inner Mess by GRACING IT. How to Keep Your Inner Mess from Trashing Your Outer World shows you how.

Other stuff I’m working on: an Inner Mess web site to provide extra resources, an Inner Mess Workbook (called Taking Out the Trash) so your small group can use the book, and another book (Living Large with Other People’s Craziness) which Janet Grant, my agent, will soon be pitching to other publishers, starting with Lion Hudson. I’m almost halfway through writing it.

I found out that in terms of the number of books released, that Lion Hudson ranks as 5th largest among evangelical publishing houses (out of a couple hundred). I’m blessed to be in such good company. The book will be released in USA, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, Hong Kong, and wherever English is the mother tongue. Yikes! Wow! Pray!

If your church would like to host an Inner Mess Weekend, email me and we can set something up. I believe in this message, and can’t wait to see how God uses it. I also want to thank anybody who helped me and encouraged me through this process. I’ll keep you posted.

5 thoughts on “Coming Soon to a Bookstore Near You…

  1. Bill –

    That is terrific, I know that your church family hopes for fruitfulness beyond measure in both your life and for the body of Christ.

    JP

  2. Congrats, Dr. G. I’m really happy you have published your book, and I do pray God will use it to grace a ton of people!! We all need that!

    I’m just wondering, though, exactly what’s in the glass and what’s making the mess? (Just my nut brain thinking…) Is there something being thrown in? Bubbles being blown under the liquid? You’re right, it truly conveys a mess, but my curiosity wonders what’s doing all that motion….

    Sorry….thanks for putting up with me….

Comments are closed.