The Mystery of the Missing ES

He don’t want me?

I know that typos create themselves in the dead of night, but there’s no excuse for “He don’t want me” as an opening sentence. Yet there it was, staring me in the face. I laughed at myself, glad I caught it. I’ve been working on a second book, Living Large with Other People’s Craziness. This one is based on Esther. So far, I have about 140 pages complete (out of a projected 225). I figured it was time to print a hardcopy, and let my first critic (my wife) review it.

I made a nice binder gave it to Margi, only to discover that I’d messed up the opening sentence. Then, we saw I had messed up the title. It didn’t say Craziness, but Crazins. Now, I’ll be the first to crave a crazin, but that’s not what my book is about.

Later, we figured out that every time the letters “es” occurred, they were missing. Care to guess what these es-less words are?

  • ther
  • ey
  • mh
  • cht
  • don’t

46 out of 140 pages suffered the mysterious malady. What happened?

My theory is this: somehow, I opened up the find/replace window on Word. I put “es” in the find box, nothing in the replace box, and hit return. That made it suck out all the “es-es” until I clicked stop. I have a vague recollection of something like that, but don’t remember for sure.

I started fix it it, one misspelled word at a time. Then I realized that I have a backup. Two backups, actually, one on google docs and the other on my backup hard drive at church.

So, after a little cutting and pasting, problem solved. The moral of the story: backup your files. The other moral: don’t do random acts of find/replace.

My agent will be pitching this book later next month, so please pray for an eager publisher! Thanks.

7 thoughts on “The Mystery of the Missing ES

  1. Computer illiteracy is great! The find/replace whatchama thingy…??

    Thanks for the heads-up anyway!

  2. It’s scary to think I know someone with an agent. Sounds very Hollywood. But as someone whose typing skills are rivalled by “Bubbles” the Chimp, I can only say I am very thankful for spell check.
    So when you become the next Rick Warren, can we tell people we knew before you were famous? The world will love your clear, but not watered down, theological insights.

  3. Dear Bill,
    Your humblns amaz me. Sometim we all make mistak. pecially you. But it tak a real man to confs his mistak. So, I gus I’m saying, don’t strs out, because Jus lov you, and forgiv you!

    Bob

  4. HAHA funny.

    Congratulations on the first book…and I know the 2nd will be awesome as well.

    I have a phobia, as a photographer, that every time I type the word ‘shot’ as in, ‘I went to the beach and took a few wonderful shots’ I will, in my haste type an ‘i’ instead of an ‘o’ because they are so close…and I won’t realize it until it’s far, far too late…and the whole world will laugh at me.

Comments are closed.