Adversity is a Grace-Uptake Stimulator

We left our condo at 2:00 a.m. in Chicago and arrived home at 7:00 p.m.  In between we flew twice, got picked up (baggage and all) by a Reno car dealer, bought a car, sold a broken down car (thanks to Craigslist), and drove 4.5 hours, getting lost only once.  The kids were great–patient and fun 98% of the time!

“And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.” 2Co 12:9 (NASB).

Fun stuff:

  • I’m sick, and so is my daughter.
  • I don’t know if my is related to my last shots (it has been one week, and that’s when they expect me to feel lousy).
  • I have a very long “to do list” before I head to Africa.
  • Please pray for me and the time there, that God would bless the missionaries I’ll be speaking to.

Adversity is a grace-uptake stimulator.  I’ll post as often as I can while in Africa.  I’m blessed!

5 thoughts on “Adversity is a Grace-Uptake Stimulator

  1. Welcome home again! You are always in our prayers and thoughts. Get well soon and go to Africa knowing you will be blessed and a blessing to all. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    XOXOX

  2. I once had a DTS professor (of N.T. studies) try to explain to us why Paul had asked Timothy “to bring the overcoat and parchments” (2 Tim 4:13) to him while in prison.

    My professor explained that Paul was an apostle in suffering, and Paul’s allusions to the rewards in the SAME passage provided the context.

    In other words, Paul was giving Timothy an opportunity to accrue heavenly rewards by attending to the suffering apostle — thus he included the request to Timothy to attend to him personally with the requested items.

    Grace,
    Joe

  3. 2 Cor. 12:9 is a fantastic Africa verse! I’ll pray you meet God’s grace at every turn!
    Perhaps the Chicago trip was a great grace-capacity training site 🙂

    We’ll be praying for you!

  4. Way to go, Bill! See the “grace-side” in this situation and, therefore, encourage your flock. We will be praying for you and Josh on your loooong travels—also for Margi and the kids in your absence. Looking forward to any blogs coming out of Africa. Glad the accommodations will be ACed most of the time. Stay cool!

  5. The entire adventure will make a great family legend to be shared at future dinner tables when your children and grandkids are over for Thanksgiving. You have much to look forward too.

    Someday it will be “Tell us the Chicago to Africa story again papa!”

    BG replies:” Oh yes, the summer of the great fires, 2008 it was…”

Comments are closed.