McPalin or O’Biden?

This is not a political statement.  This is a rhetorical statement—and I mean rhetorical as in “the art of effective, persuasive speaking.”

Speaking as a “professional speaker,” Sarah Palin delivered one of the best political speeches I’ve ever heard.  I’m not endorsing anybody, and I’m not going to.  I endorse Jesus. And I would never want to turn off a potential audience for Jesus by being overtly political.

But as a speaker, Sarah Palin electrified me.  Her speech was funny.  Cutting.  Smart.  Witty. Poignant.  Charming.  Poised.  And well-delivered.  Move over, Sen. Obama… there’s a new speaker in town… and she’s quite a lady.  And she’s the best speaker of the four candidates (McPalin and O’Biden)… and better than Sen. Clinton too.  I think she’s at least as good as Pres. Bill Clinton and… remember, I’m speaking rhetorically… she’s a little better than Jesse Jackson in the speech he gave (I think) 3 or so democratic conventions ago.  I still think Pres. Reagan was the greatest speechmaker in my lifetime, though.

I’m going to have my seven year old daugher listen to Gov. Palin’s speech tomorrow.  But I want her to see that the sky’s the limit for little girls.

America needs God.  Politics is important, and I urge you to register and to vote.  But even more, I urge you to a) walk faithfully with Jesus, and b) point others to Jesus, the only Savior.

Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. (1 Timothy 2:1-4, NKJV).

12 thoughts on “McPalin or O’Biden?

  1. I remember seeing Barack Obama and Alan Keyes speak at North Park University my freshman year. They were running for Illinois Senate at the time.

    Barack was personable and well reasoned, but not thrilling. All content, very little packaging. He’s stepped things up some since then, for sure.

    Alan Keyes, who’s politics I disagree with WILDLY, was fantastically engaging. He was about the best rhetorician I’ve seen speak in person. Excellent presentation structure, delivery and timing. I was very impressed.

    It was kind of bizarre to be so appreciative of the form and yet not really care for the content of someone’s speech.

    Still, for all of President Bush’s gifts in the realm of leadership, it will be nice to have someone in office who can *ahem* deftly maneuver in the realm of rhetoric, shall we say.

  2. she read the speech well. i didn’t think it was engaging, i thought it was overly snide and snarky and lacked substance. however, it was well delivered.

    I’m voting Jesus ’08

    Matty

  3. Boys,
    It’s ver peculular that you would ‘dis yer ol’ Commander ‘n’ Chef here. What of I ever done to you? I’m “ummmm” hurt, *ahum* shell we say “preturbed.”
    G Dub

  4. My very favoritest part of the televised time though was when Sarah Palin’s youngest daughter was holding her new little brother and smoothing his hair. Then she licked her hand and smoothed that troublesome stuff down slick! : ) It was precious.

  5. Bill,
    …maybe…

    Cheri,
    I was there from August 2004 until May, ’08. I double majored in Philosophy and Communications Theory. I’m at Boston College now, starting my MA in Philosophy.

  6. Jonathan,

    how fun! I graduated from NP in ’95. Now I live near Boston. The man who leads a bible study at our house received his doctorate from BC when he 69 years old; he too, majored in philosophy. I’ll mention you to him, if you’d like. He’s a really neat guy who loves the Lord. I think he may have taught a few classes at BC as well.

    There’s a great church in Boston…I’m sure you’ve heard of it but just in case you haven’t, you should check out Park St. Church…it’s near Boston Common. They really reach out to the college crowd and there’s some great bible studies/classes that are taught there.

    Hope you’re enjoying some lobsta’ and chowda’ in the some of the very cool surrounding towns…Rockport and Newburyport are fun to visit. The Fall is also pretty amazing out here…hope you’re settling in.

  7. Cheri,

    It’s a small world after all.

    By all means, pass my name along. I’m always one for new friends of all generations, especially if they can endure my endless philosophy talk! 🙂

    I’ll have to check out park st. The name rings a bell, but I don’t know from where. Thanks for the info!

  8. I know Chicago’s big, but did you and/or Margi have any encounters with the Obamas in either community development or lawyerly circles?

  9. I thought Palin did a good job delivering her speech. I was constantly laughing. Her humor tickled my funny bone.

    But I found Barack Obama’s speech much more moving.

    Also, after watching Sarah on 20/20 last week my opinion of her is pretty low at the moment.

Comments are closed.