I Love It When People Get…

…SAVED.  I love it when people get saved!  Jesus said to make disciples, and getting saved is step one.  So I love it when people get saved.

Roughly forty people professed their faith in Jesus for the first time in our weekend services.  Yes!  I love that.  I give an invitation for that once in a while.  I explain the saving work of Christ (aka the gospel) and guide people in a prayer… the ABC’s.

A:  I ADMIT I need you God!  I’m can’t reach you–you are infinite, I am finite.  You are holy, I am sinful.  I need you and I can’t reach you.  I admit it God.  I don’t live up to your standards.  I don’t even live up to my own standards.  I’m a sinner, and I need you God.

B:  But I BELIEVE that Jesus is my way to you.  I believe he died for my sins.  I believe he rose again.  I believe Jesus paid in full for all my sins.  His shed blood smashed the barrier between me and you, God.  I don’t understand how it all works, but I’m telling you, God, as best as I can, that I believe in Jesus.

C: And right now, I CHOOSE to receive him as my Savior.  Right now, I choose him as my only hope.  I embrace Jesus.  I turn my back on any other source of life; just Jesus.  That’s my choice, Lord.  And I’m asking you, for Jesus’ sake, please save me right now.

So that’s the prayer I invite people to make.  Then I ask them to confirm that they expressed their faith in Jesus by looking up at me.  I promise to not single them out.  But I ask them to make eye contact, and then I acknowledge them.

That’s the coolest part.

So many times I see beaming faces with tears streaming down their cheeks.  It’s so real, and so cool.  I see huge smiles.  I see people eager to make sure I notice them, so they wave me down.  I see couples–a husband and wife or people who are dating–together crossing the threshhold of salvation.  I see parents with their kids.  And I see lots and lots of kids.  Some people are so nervous… they barely move their head, and lift their eyes to look at me.  And then I see them, and lock eyes with them, and say “Thank you.  Welcome to God’s family.”  And they smile and look down.

It’s real.  It’s amazing.  It’s grace.

In Him you also trusted, after you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation; in whom also, having believed, you were sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise, (Ephesians 1:13, NKJV).

P.S.  I’ve been told I’ll be able to get some early copies of HOW TO KEEP YOUR INNER MESS FROM TRASHING YOUR OUTER WORLD in time for CHRISTMAS!  Anybody interested?  Email me or leave a comment if you want to order a bunch.  Thanks.

7 thoughts on “I Love It When People Get…

  1. Great post, Bill. I listen to a lot of your sermons via podcast. I have to admit, that I am sometimes moved to tears when I hear you say, “Welcome to God’s family.” It’s beautiful. What a great ministry you have at Neighborhood Church. Keep it up!
    Bob

  2. I had tears on Saturday night and had to fight the urge to look up and see who was coming to know our Savior. I’m getting wattery now just reading about what you see. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks…
    And I want to say that I learned the gospel from Lance Latham and Vern Benner (from the birthplace of AWANA).

    And that I learned that kind of invitation from Tim Ramsden, a pastor and friend in Rockford, IL. I watched him do it a few times… I had never given an invitation. He encouraged me to try it his way, and I’ve been hooked ever since.

    Bill

  4. I wish you could have seen my husband pray along with you in our car when you gave an invitation to Jesus. This was years ago, and I still remember it like it was yesterday. My husband and I both get tears every time we hear you give an invitation. It’s over the internet, in our car, or on TV, yet still powerful.

    thanks and PTL for His Grace!

  5. Bill, great sermon Saturday night, we are glad to have you back. I will take a bunch of those books you wrote (3) but it would be great if you could sign them, no pressure though.

  6. I’d like some books, too, Dr. G! How about eight of them??? There’s a lot of family I’d love to give them to. Do you autograph? Wow! (Must be in time for Christmas though!!) Yeah!

    Glad you’re back home and blogging again. I sure have missed you!

Comments are closed.