First Edition…

Margi called to say that FedEx had just dropped off two big boxes, and did I order any books?  She said we just received two big boxes of books, and neither of us had ordered any.

Then the lights went on.  She checked where they came from… and sure enough, international delivery from the U.K.  Two boxes of my very own, first ever, dream come true… How to Keep Your Inner Mess from Trashing Your Outer World.  

Here’s a description:

 

If you’ve ever wondered about your own dark side, here’s the book for you.  You’ll find clear steps…

  • To tame the motley crew within:  your Inner Control Freak, Liar, Brat, and Manipulator…
  • To hit the W.W.J.D. target more times than you miss it…
  • To form satisfying relationships and a healthy family life…
  • To succeed inside so you can you succeed in the marketplace, at school, or at home…

  • To rein in the creepy forces that sabotage your joy…
  • To understand Jesus and the life he offers…

  • To get off the legalistic treadmill of duty, guilt, and shame!

It’s time to rummage through the world of your Inner Mess.  All our spiritual malfunctions spill out from a single debris-pile called the flesh. Few Christians know how to handle this raucous force within.  The more we fight it, the worse we fail.  You can change that today. How to Keep Your Inner Mess From Trashing Your Outer World gives new hope and fresh insight to draw on the incredible resources God has provided.  In a rare blend of real-life theology and quick-witted humor, this book helps any reader find the peace and happiness God created you for. 

 

Margi wanted to open them.  I made her wait… with some references to Laura Petrie–which fans of the Dick Van Dyke show will understand.  So, I raced home, and tore into the boxes.  It was a surreal moment. Two boxes of “author copies.”  These are the first copies sent out, and I’m supposed to use them to help promote sales.  I’ll send them out to:

 

  • Small Groups Pastors 
  • Media People (radio, tv, print, book reviews etc)
  • Church Leaders
  • Pastors
  • Hi Profile Bloggers
  • Anybody who can influence others to pick up the book.

 

You can help.  If there is somebody you know who can influence a significant amount of people to buy the book, please let me know.  I’m really asking for your help, so if you know who can help, let me know, and I’ll send them a book and some other info.

That’s how it works.  I really like the look and feel of the book.  I was concerned that it might feel or look odd to American readers, but nope.  It’s great.  I love the front and back covers, the typeface, everything. I’m really grateful to the publisher, Monarch Books, and the editor, Tony Collins. 

Ordering… well, I’m still waiting to find out prices and delivery in time for Christmas.  The book comes out October 1, 2008 in the UK, Europe, and Australia.  It’s already on a bunch of those websites for sale.

 

 

Cool, huh.  

 It comes out Jan 1, 2009 in the US.  It’s already on Amazon, without the cover art, for pre-order.  I’m setting up sales on a site where it will sell for $14.99 ($1 above the cover price), for an autographed/inscribed copy.   I’ll sell some discounted books as soon as I get my final price… so, hang in there.  I’ll let you know. 

A big thank you to everybody who prayed and helped and proofread this project.  May God use this book to encourage and bless his church worldwide, to deliver us from domination by the Inner Mess, and to set us on a path toward the life of HIS dreams for us.  

A couple of publishers are looking at another book proposal, and I should hopefully know something in a couple of weeks.  Please pray.  That’s a project about Other People’s Craziness, and I really believe God can use it to bring healing, courage, and comfort to lots of people.  I’ll keep you posted.  

(Click the picture to read the nice endorsements on the back cover, including a very kind one from Erwin Lutzer!)

16 thoughts on “First Edition…

  1. WOO HOO!!! Congratulations! This is the culmination of years of hard work and committment, blessed by God, and in His power!

    Bob

  2. Congratulations! What a momentous day! Can’t wait until we get our very own copy. May God bless each set of hands that it is put into.

  3. I was wondering if that was what was in your hands this afternoon. I’ll trade you one for a salad and some drinks. Extra balsamic dressing even!

  4. Did you get my message for eight books? by Christmas?? (autographed…????)

    Congratulations, dear Dr. G! I’m sure positive God will use this book for His glory!! PTL!

  5. Bill,

    Congrats on the dream-come-true!

    Not sure how to respond other than through the blog, but there are a couple people here in Sioux Falls that have a large influence over the “evangelical mafia” in the upper Midwest (North and South Dakota, and parts of Minnesota, Iowa, and Nebraska).

    I’d be happy to either pass along contact info to you, or pass along a book to some of them.

  6. Good for you!! I’m so excited for you! 🙂
    I would suggest sending a copy to Joshua Griffin, the High School Pastor at Saddleback Church. He has a very high profile blog “www.morethandodgeball.com.” He loves to review books!

    Oh and do you get a copy for suggesting someone 🙂

  7. Yippee!! Congrats on your book. We are thankful to call you our pastor and equally thankful that your book is beginning to be available. We love to share your sermons with others…now we can share the book, too. Thank you for writing it!! To God be the glory!

  8. Congratulations!!! I was at the service this evening, and was very excited to hear about your book. I got home, ordered a copy on the Amazon UK website. The cost is a bit higher, but I didn’t want to wait until next year to read it. I hope you will autograph it for me once I get it.

  9. Congrats. What a jazzy cover. I’m emailing my cousin in the UK to get the book. She will refer it to others over there. I can’t wait to read it.

  10. I have a few connections at Lifechurch.tv. Let me know if you are interested. I will get you addresses.

    I am excited to get a copy. I will wait until they go onsale in the US. I am hoping for an autographed copy. Please.

  11. Congratulations! I am not surprised at all, I am sure it will be a huge success! I have no big influence or even a blog site, but I will definitely read it and I am sure reccommend to my friends!

Comments are closed.