Dear Lord…

prayhands-copy.jpgTherefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. (1 Timothy 2:1-4, NKJV).

Dear Heavenly Father,

I praise you for the freedom Americans have enjoyed to tell the story of Jesus.  This freedom is a gift and we do not take it lightly.  I praise you for the prosperity that has allowed our nation to send missionaries around the world with the love of Christ.  I praise you for your hand of blessing on America all these years. I praise you for the peace and safety our land has enjoyed.  I praise you for the abundance of natural resources and the riches of our land.  All these things come from your hand, and we humbly bless you for them.  Forgive us for taking our blessings and liberties for granted.

Now, Lord, as we come to the end of this contentious and polarizing campaign season, I pray that we, your people, might lead quiet and peaceable lives, continuing in the freedom to speak without fear the whole counsel of God, to rebuke our nation where we deviate from your standards, and to be the catalyst for the healing of this land.  God, draw the church back to you that you might draw the nation back to you.  

We pray your promise over our land:

“if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:14, NKJV).

glassesbible.jpgI ask that today’s election will go smoothly.  I pray against dishonest balloting.  I pray for judges of election to have strength and courage for the long day ahead.  I ask you, Lord, for a clear conclusion to this campaign, without delay, and without the devastating divisiveness of corruption.  I pray for supernatural honesty and integrity even in our media, dear Lord.

For whichever candidate loses today’s election, I pray for a gracious and quick concession speech, one that will help heal the breach in our nation.

For whichever candidate wins, I pray for humility in victory.  I pray for a White House and Congress and Judiciary that governs with an eye on that day when each one stands before you for evaluation.  I pray that you will give us the economy, the government, and the freedoms that will most further the gospel.  I pray that our hearts would align with your Word in areas of liberty, morality, conscience, compassion for the poor and outcast, and righteousness.  I pray for our troops, that you would grant safety, victory with honor, and a soon return from the fields of battle.  I pray for those war-torn nations who so desperately need peace and help and your Word.  Grant a miracle there and let the blessings of the gospel and your healing power for broken bodies, hearts, and lives, flow liberally and freely in lands that have for so long opposed the gospel.

You say, “The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, Like the rivers of water; He turns it wherever He wishes” (Proverbs 21:1, NKJV).  Lord, turn our new President’s heart toward righteousness as you define it.  Turn his heart toward true compassion and true courage.  

We do not look to government for our blessing, we look to you.  Our help comes from the Lord. 

God, most of all, I pray that your people, the Church, the Bride of Christ, will come Back to the Bible. You say, “Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord” (Ps 33;12). Draw the hearts of your people away from legalism, away from superficial or activistic Christianity, and away from materialism.  Cause us to grow deep and strong in Christ.  Give us a hunger for Scripture and prayer.  Give us a compassion for people who are groping after Christ (Ac 17:27).  Give us a holiness borne of grace. Give us a zeal for the Lord’s house, a joy in praising and exalting your name, and a love that flows from the life of Christ living through us.  Give us the heart of pilgrims, sojourners who are on a journey to our lasting home in the heavens, one whose maker and builder is God. Revive your chuch.  “Oh that you would rend the heavens and come down” to your own people, with fresh power, both heat and light.  Turn your people back to yourself, Lord, and heal our land.

joeyflagGod, I’m thankful to be an American.  I’m blessed to live in this land.  I love our country; I know you do to.  Use this election however you will, to bless, guide, chasten, and heal this land.  Most of all, use it as yet another catalyst for us to spread the best message of the best person ever known–the gospel of the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ.

God, please, in your mercy, bless America.

Through Christ Alone, Amen.

10 thoughts on “Dear Lord…

  1. Amen.

    and may I add:

    “Lord, let our ‘voting’ extend beyond the ballot box and into our communities. Let us ‘vote’ in favor of our families, our schools, our neighborhood and especially our churches. Don’t let us forget that those ‘elections’ make just as much of a difference as the one we will watch on TV tonight. Teach us how to ‘vote’ in more ways than one.”

  2. You always seem to take the feelings in my heart and turn them into words.
    Lord, I praise you for your work in and through Bill!
    Amen

    P.S. I voted for the first time today!! Very Exciting!

  3. My dear Dr. G: Thank you so much for this precious prayer!!! I’ve already voted – signed and mailed – and have decided to NOT turn on the TV or radio until much later today. My heart is so “into” your prayer for us all, and I’m resting now in the peace and joy of knowing my Sovereign Almighty God loves me and is in total control over this election process (a piece of cake for Him!!).
    Thank you for praying for us all!!! Your “flock” is far reaching!

  4. Thank you for posting this prayer…In the face of this time I needed this reminder that God is powerful and in control! May He be glorified in any outcome… and He will be!

  5. Bill, What a beautiful way to articulate the prayer and thoughts of my heart. Matt A, Right on! Let us never forget why God saved us and left us here on earth. I am personally thankful I was at a church dinner Tuesday evening, feasting on fellowship with the saints and not eating at the “slop bucket of TV news pundits!”

  6. Loving your blog and your prayer for our country. Yes, we so have so much to be grateful for and we are so blessed in this country. Thank you for the reminder of how great our country is to be able to speak and praise our Lord anywhere at any time. God’s grace upon us it what truly matters.

Comments are closed.