Monday Morning Quarterback – JOY

joy1JOY 1:  The Bears routed the [hapless] Rams yesterday, making up for a spanking administered by the Packers last week. The Bears now lead the division, which isn’t saying much, because they’ve only won one more than they’ve lost. I miss watching Bears games… it was a great way to finish a Sunday. Living the Pacific Time Zone, the games are over before I get home. My church in Chicago, Windy City Community Church, used to add “Go Bears!” to the benediction. Is that unspiritual? i miss it.

JOY 2:  Jon & the worship team did a great job in this weekend’s worship. The highlight for me was the song, “Bring the Rain.” Very powerful and moving. An unplugged feel with all acoustic instruments: 2 guitars, piano (a real one), sax, kongas, and bass (electric). Also, a team worked really hard to repaint our church auditorium, and it looks beautiful.  It went from 80’s mauve and grey to Pottery Barn chic.  A warm feel–thanks to Margi, my awesome wife, and Sarah M for picking out colors… and for Margi and Dave Hall for getting a team together… And thanks to everybody who volunteered to paint & get ‘er done!

joyjumpJOY 3:  I finished my series on How to Recession Proof Your Inner World. I spoke on how to build the Royal Palace of the Soul. Here’s a great quote (not mine) from the sermon, from an old time Baptist preacher named Octavius Winslow. I would love to have this spirit…

“The religion of Christ is the religion of JOY. Christ came to take away our sins, to roll off our curse, to unbind our chains, to open our prisonhouse, to cancel our debt; in a word, to give us the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness. Is not this joy? Where can we find a joy so real, so deep, so pure, so lasting? There is every element of joy – deep, ecstatic, satisfying, sanctifying joy – in the gospel of Christ. The believer in Jesus is essentially a happy man. The child of God is, from necessity, a joyful man. His sins are forgiven, his soul is justified, his person is adopted, his trials are blessings, his conflicts are victories, his death is immortality, his future is a heaven of inconceivable, unthought-of, untold, and endless blessedness. With such a God, such a Saviour, and such a hope, is he not, ought he not, to be a joyful man?”
[Octavius Winslow, pastor from the 1800’s]

JOY 4:  “But now I come to You, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have My joy fulfilled in themselves. (John 17:13, NKJV).

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Quarterback – JOY

  1. At one time in my life I thought joy was non-existent, I discovered that, too, was a choice. The song “I’m trading my sorrows..for the joy of the Lord” became the vehicle of learning for me. Is there no joy available? Of course, there is. Am I using it? That’s the question needing an answer. So, from God’s abundant source of joy, I decided to take advantage of it for myself. I choose JOY!

    We can always rain on our own parades – or we can choose joy and be much happier.

    However, a Bears’ victory is a bust for me…..absolutely no joy….sorry.

  2. The name of your blog just made me laugh out loud. Something I rarely do.

    It’s good to know along with the good Word, the Lord has given you a good sense of humor.

  3. The Bears are going to the Super Bowl!!! They spanked the mighty Rams! Ok. Matt Forte is the next Walter Payton! Whew. Now that I have that out of my system…

    Great quote. It’s especially timely, coming into Thanksgiving and the Christmas season. Despite the economy and the news, Christians have great cause to rejoice!

    Thanks for sharing it.

    Bob G

  4. Your “church…used to add “Go Bears!” to the benediction.”? You did that. And I always hated it. I always used to add “far away from our church service” after you said “Go Bears.” OK, so I kept a ledger about this. But I did mention it back then.

    You say you would like to have the spirit Octavius writes of. But would you like to have his name?

  5. On the contrary, my friend MattA…
    If you recall, the first time or two I just muttered Go Bears. I didn’t do it every week. After a time, the congregation added it. And most enjoyed it. Now that you mention it, I do recall that you didn’t appreciate it. I understand your reasons.
    And see, your “far away from our church service” is another example of WCCC spontaneity! How fun! You really, honestly kept a ledger? A ledger? Ouch!
    You have a problem with “Octavius?” I’ll be nobody picked fights with him. Or maybe the opposite.
    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Bill

  6. Yeah, no kidding “ouch,” but just to make sure it’s clear, I mean a mental ledger. The kind you very often preach against keeping so as to maintain mental and spiritual health. And I acknowledge that keeping it is not a good thing. The fact that my mind didn’t differentiate you doing it from the congregation doing it shows the danger of keeping such a ledger.

    As far as “Octavius,” I think it may be that unique first names have me on edge these days.

Comments are closed.