Christmas Services Last Night

sap_nativity

I was blown away by our church Christmas Eve Eve services last night. What a blessing! Great job putting it together by Jon Lepinski. And great job by Mike, Liz, and Connie working through the logistics. 

Jesus was uplifted and glorified. Jesus was the theme of our song. One highlight for me was the totally joyful rendition of Go, Tell it On the Mountain, with kids, choir, Jon, Liz, and the band, leading to a perfectly celebrated finale… and I don’t really even like that song! We truly have a message to tell on the mountain and everywhere, that Jesus the Messiah is born. Hallelujah.

Another highlight was Ken Jones, one of our pastors, singing a beautiful Christmas song and accompanying himself on the piano. Beautiful, lilting, and meaningful song–he wrote the song, by the way–followed by a heartwarming, and encouraging Christmas message. Great job, Ken. 

I can’t skip the awesome bluegrass band singing Away in a Manger, the kids’ choir, Abbie on violin, Ken on sax, Ben on drums… I’m gonna get in trouble now by skipping somebody, so I’ll stop. 

I’m so thankful for all you guys. Grand Slam!

We packed out all three services, especially the last one, which was standing room only… estimates hover around 1,900 in total. Many thanks to our volunteers who showed up at 2:00 and ministered till 8:30 p.m. We love you guys, and you did kingdom ministry.

img_0963Looks like we’ll have a white Christmas. Since we live above the valley floor,we occasionally get snow while the rest of our town gets rain. We’re on a ridge at just under 1200 ft elevation… the city sits at 500 ft.  It’s snowing now, 6:00 a.m. Christmas eve morning. Big fluffy flakes. The ground is already white. The kids are gonna go crazy! We have a small hill for sledding right next to the house. The snow will be gone in two or three days, so we can still gloat to our Chicago friends.

img_1027My mom and dad are spending Christmas with us. We’re so happy for that; our kids are super excited. It’s colder than their Florida blood can handle, so we’re keeping the fireplace cooking. My dad has found his happy place… a comfy chair next to the fireplace. My mom, too, has found her happy place… cooking pasta, sausage, and homemade tiramisu for our company today. It was a special treat for me to watch Monday Night Football with my dad. Us lifetime Chicagoans watched the Bears beat the Packers… winning ugly is still a win, right?

We’re having another houseful today–a total of nine kids. Snowmen, snowomen, snowballs, and snow angels will give way to hot cocoa and lots of noise in the playroom. It’s especially cool for my son, who shares his birthday with Jesus (we throw his big party in 6 months, and he’s good with that…)

We are blessed, the Bible says, with every spiritual blessing in heavenly places. I can only add an Amen, and echo St Paul: Thanks be to God for his unspeakable gift.

Merry Christmas from the Giovannetti’s

img_0970

I received a fresh supply of Inner Mess books on Monday… all ready to go. Click the link on the top right to order an autographed copy. I’m so humbled by the excellent response and the encouraging comments I’ve received. Please pray for the book to touch many lives with the matchless grace of our Great God!

5 thoughts on “Christmas Services Last Night

  1. Merry Christmas to you and your family! I am so glad that your parents are here and that your father is doing so well.

    It was a lovely service last night. I enjoyed getting some pictures and posting a couple on my blog.

    Enjoy your holidays and your company!!

  2. Merry Christmas Bill, Margi, Josie, JD, and extended family. Good you can be together and enjoy the Redding winter. May 2009 be filled with blessings for you.

  3. The Christmas Eve-eve service was, indeed, wondeful. Thank you, everyone, who played a part in making it happen!

  4. Hey Bill…

    Now that we’ve finished the Christmas messages…this has been brought to me on a couple occassions…and quite frankly, I have zero clue how to react to it. A few friends I know who are believers are finding it quite worth considering…and my theology, even though I’ve read the Bible…doesn’t really give me answers…I’m not as knowledeble in old translations and what not…so I was wondering if you could help. I know you’ve got to be horribly busy…but even maybe for next Christmas….

    Here’s a link that pretty much sums up what I’ve been hearing.
    http://www.sovereigngrace.net/should.htm

  5. Hi Brian…
    My personal opinion is that life is too short to worry about that stuff. Enjoy the season and don’t give 10 seconds to the (always abundant) legalistic naysayers.

    One person esteems one day above another; another esteems every day alike. Let each be fully convinced in his own mind. (Romans 14:5, NKJV).

    Bill

Comments are closed.