Okay, some questions…

question-marksFun questions.

Jump into the comment pool with your answers. I’ll give mine in a couple of days, as long as you give yours. You go first, because I am nothing if not a gentleman.

  1. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.
  2. What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what  would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?
  3. What is one of your guilty pleasures?
  4. Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.
  5. What part of your body hurts most?
  6. What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?
  7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.
  8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.
  9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?

Confession is good for the soul. Leave a comment. Use numbers. Be brief.

32 thoughts on “Okay, some questions…

  1. 1. Singing solo in front of people.
    2. Caribou. Only white mochas. Less than twice a month.
    3. Craving the Die Hard movies.
    4. Personal chef. No contest.
    5. Toes.
    6. Put them in a pile for Ed to file later.
    7. Mighty To Save
    8. Not for any price! Naked worship leader takes to Main Street in smallish town…? No further explanation needed. 🙂
    9. A. Something exploring links between personality types and spiritual gifts, B. ‘Mommy Has Two Arms’ (for when we adopt our 2nd), and C. Lessons of Adoption.

  2. 1: Heights. More specifically: Falling. Vertigo.
    2: Whole Foods 365 French Roast. About $20/Month. I make my own coffee: 8 cups/day. If I didn’t spend this money on coffee, I’d spend it on Tylenol for caffeine withdrawl headaches.
    3: ummm….this is private, right? OK: chick flicks.
    4: Housekeeper.
    5: Coccyx
    6: I don’t look at ’em. They get shredded. I do look online, and get a queasy feeling.
    7: “You Will Go Free” by Tonio K (Mighty To Save is a good one, though)
    8: No. Not for $1500. My normal price for public nudity is per the following schedule: = 10 X (My Lawyer’s Fee + Public Indecency Fine + Doctor’s bill for frostbite +($500 X days in jail)).
    9: “All the things I’m Right About and You’re Wrong About or Why the World Would Be A Better Place if I Was In Charge” It’s a childrens’ book with popups of me raising my fist and yelling, “Get off my lawn!”

  3. 1. Grasshoppers. HATE HATE HATE. Locusts are the worst. I saw one in Africa that was 4 inches long (looked like a foot long) I had to pretend not to be afraid so someone wouldn’t throw it on me…horrible
    2. Dutch Brothers. I probably spend $5-$10 a month on it.
    3. Ice Cream
    4. Housekeeper…easy Two kids 3 dogs and two adults who place the housework at the end of their list of priorities…no brainer.
    5. My left thumb
    6. laugh
    7. I can’t remember the name of it it’s 10th ave north that sings it though..
    8. $1500 is a good chunk of money….1/2 mile is a lot farther than most people think. I’d have to see the money…but probably.
    9. I have a lot of book ideas…mostly about taking photography adventures with my kids on extensive road trips and then repeating the process every 4 or 5 years to see how we change, grow, and ‘appreciate’ the great American road trip.

  4. 1.Posting my thoughts in public for all to read and comment on.
    2. Pumpkin Spice Latte is my favorite. If not that then I’d spend it on a Decaf Soy Hazelnut Latte.
    3. Pumpkin Spice Latte. :o)
    4. It’s a toss up but I’ll say chef because I love a well prepared meal.
    5. Head.
    6. Shred, shred, shred.
    7. Lord Reign in Me and Be Thou My Vision. Sorry, couldn’t pick just one.
    8. Nope, but someone might pay me that amount not to.
    9. I’d write about how to survive being a pstors kid. Hopefully a resource for PKs and their parents.

  5. 1. Feet! My two children have to touch everything including me with their dirty, nasty, clammy feet! My husbands feet are even worse!!!
    2.Venti Breve Chai Latte. 2 times a month and this money comes out of my grocery budget if there is enough leftover.
    3. World of Warcraft online gaming!! I am a level 36 Draeni Paladin
    4. Housekeeper. I could cook gourmet meals & have a lovely garden if someone else was cleaning my house and doing my laundry.
    5.My hips
    6.They get filed with all the important stuff throughout the year.
    7. Held by Natalie Grant.
    8. Yes. #1. It is a lot of money. #2. I am proud of my body. The things that make my body unattractive to main stream society are the things that make me most proud. The deep stretch marks from 2 pregnancies are my battle scars and I am proud of them! #3. Even during “rush” hour in Anderson there is like maybe 4 people who would see me.
    9. I am currently writing my first book titled “Death to Fatty” A self help guide to “killing” your inner fat person. (I said I was proud of my body, not that I like enjoy being fat.)

  6. Is this fodder for your new book, Dr. G? – oh, brother!
    1. My palms don’t get sweaty – my chest breaks out in a red rash; the last time was at my wedding. (We’ve been married almost 42 years.)
    2. I love lattes but stopped being extravagant when I realized just how much I was spending each week. Now I drink Costco’s finest made at home. How about paying the utility bill with what I’ve saved?
    3. Visiting my grambabies as often as I get the chance. I don’t feel guilty though.
    4. Since I need to eat to live and can survive in a messy house, I’ll take the chef.
    5. My back – from picking up all those grambabies! (Have seven with two on the way.) Won’t stop either!
    6. My retirement account won’t even buy lattes once a month – total joke.
    7. Shout to the Lord! Be Thou My Vision makes me cry too.
    8. Not on your life! $1500 would pay for most people’s coffee…..Nah! Don’t want to join Bob G in jail either!
    9. I’ll leave the book writing to Dr. G. Nobody cares what I think anyway. At one point in my life I thought I’d write a book “How NOT to impress your mother-in-law” but gave that up a long time ago. Now I think “How to impress your children-in-love” is more important.

  7. 1. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.

    I am afraid of heights. My son thinks it’s funny. He always takes me to high places and makes me look over the edge. One such place is Shasta Dam. To look down the face of Shasta Dam I literally get down on my knees and crawl slowly to the edge.

    2. What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?

    Yaks is okay, but I usually brew my own at home. As with beer, I try all sorts of coffee. I like new things a lot, I guess (when it comes to beer I’m always trying a new microbrew).

    3. What is one of your guilty pleasures?

    Where to start? Do you censor this blog? 🙂 I guess I’ll go with eating out. I spend way too much doing so.

    4. Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.

    A housekeeper for sure, because, well… duh! I wouldn’t have to do my laundry, clean my toilets, vacuum the floors, do the dishes… etc. Will he or she clean up the dog poop in the backyard too?

    5. What part of your body hurts most?

    My neck. There’s never a time it doesn’t hurt.

    6. What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?

    I use all junk mail to start fires. 🙂

    7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.

    Go to iTunes and download “The Awakening – Promise Keepers” version of How Great is Our God. Gives me goosebumps!

    8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.

    Probably. Nobody would want to look, so it’d be an easy $1500.

    9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?

    My life as a sinner and what’s happened since accepting God’s grace.

  8. Oh, didn’t fully answer #2… what would I do with the money if I didn’t gulp it down? I’d spend it on something else. There’s always something to blow money on.

  9. 1. Big social events such as weddings. I turn shy and fade into the background.
    2. Not a big coffee person but a Starbucks Carmel Macchiato is nice occasionally.
    3. Dog the Bounty Hunter on TV. Not a rocket scientist show, but fun
    4. Housekeeper-I’m a bit of a slob
    5.. Right knee- Advice: never total a car
    6. File them probably once a year
    7. Secret Ambition by Michael W. Smith-my favorite Christian song of all times
    8. No, No and No
    9. Probably a book about blue-collar, in your face, political Conservatism. Even though I am college educated, political tomes are rarely “Everyday Joe” friendly.

  10. 1) Preaching a sermon Bill might hear.
    2) The kind with the highest caffeine percentage per cup. Just not airline coffee. You mean we’re paying for that stuff? Oh man… I’d go to the movies.
    3) Sci-fi movies from the ’70s. And interior decorating, with… manly decor.
    4) Masseuse. My wife cooks just fine and I get too much pleasure out of imagining the unspeakably fantastic landscape that will someday be my backyard to farm the dream out to someone else to create.
    5) My lower back (because of the landscaping…?) – hence the masseuse.
    6) Retirement account? Uh-oh…
    7) Yes Lord, Yes Lord, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes… I like harmonizing to all the “yesszs.”
    8) Uhhhh…. not in Weaverville. Maybe in Manhattan.
    9) “Pick-up Trucks & Communion Cups” – How God Birthed a Mountain Church.

  11. 1. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.
    Gerontophobia & Eisoptrophobia-Now that I’m past 30, okay, okay 40
    2. What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?
    Based on Question #6 below I can no longer afford to buy coffee of any sort – but wait there’s a bailout coming right??? Starbucks and Caribou here I come!!!!
    3. What is one of your guilty pleasures?
    Long hot showers – it must drive the environmentalists crazy on how much water I waste . . . hee, hee, hee. . .
    4. Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.
    Definitely cook – think Oprah – look how good she looks with her personal chef. . . oh she weighs 200 pounds again? . . . nevermind – masseuse – now that I’m over 40 I’m hoping all the massages can shift things back up
    5. What part of your body hurts most?
    My eyes – they tear up everytime I see myself in the mirror or a picture
    6. What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?
    Gloat. Kidding – refer to Question 1 – I change my mind.
    7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.
    Jesus Messiah by Chris Tomlin
    8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.
    Based on the above answers to the questions, are you kidding? Now, for $1,500,000 – you betcha baby! I’d take baby steps.
    9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?
    A diet book – they seem to do well regardless of what kind of skata they put out there

  12. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.

    … Heights – even a ladder at home for home repairs.

    What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?

    … Java Detour – hot mocha. One per week on a weekend. Well, at about $3.00 I could buy a gallon or two of gas – until it goes back up.

    What is one of your guilty pleasures?

    …Cooking outragelously gourmet meals for friends – which is why I need someone to clean up after me. I love to cook with and have a beautiful presentation, but I sure detest the clean-up.

    Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.

    ….Housekeeper – absolutely. Actually I just want a “keeper”.

    What part of your body hurts most?

    …My right elbow – tendonitis – too much vacuuming and housecleaning!

    What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?

    …Review, and place into their folders.

    Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.

    …”Come, Now is the Time to Worship”; or “People Get Ready Jesus is Comin'”.

    Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.

    … Not a snowball’s chance in, well, you no where.

    When you write your first book, what will it be about?

    … If I could write as well as Pastor Bill, well – I would like to take on the story of my family’s immigration from Germany in the mid 1800’s.

  13. 1. Getting stuck.
    2. I’m usually a social drinker. I like mint mochas–maybe $5.00 – $10.00 a month. No idea what else I might do with the money.
    3. Staying up way too late.
    4. Housekeeper.
    5. Hips.
    6. What retirement account statements?
    7. “Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, . . .”
    8. Who would pay, and why? I don’t think so.
    9. Quirky solutions to public problems.

  14. I’m going to answer those that will come up with something different than previous answers (and In a new order):

    8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.

    – Yup, it would cost me some dignity and my job but I feel it would open brand new opportunities…

    9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?

    – It would be called “Nudity for Hire: My Experience of Running Naked for $1,500”. It would make millions, the amount of money required to cancel out shame.

    5. What part of your body hurts most?

    – The bottom of my feet.

    7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.

    – “Undignified”

  15. 1. germs (more specifically stomach flu viruses)
    2. don’t drink coffee
    3. dinner out
    4. housekeeper ( I spend way too much time cleaning)
    5. neck and shoulder area
    6. file em
    7. “In Christ Alone”
    8. Nope….guess I’m not in a position to make that worth it
    9. hmmm….think I’d like to just keep reading them at this point

  16. 1. Needles with heights a close second. I don’t crawl to the edge of anything, I cling to the inner wall like spiderman.
    2. Not old enough for coffee yet, ’cause it’s gross.
    3. chocolate
    4. housekeeper if you don’t have to pick up before they come. It would have to be a housekeeper who picks stuff up so you don’t have to pick up before the housekeeper comes. : )
    5. right pointer finger, don’t ever think you can win a tug of war with a 17 hand horse, or probably any horse for that matter.
    6. give them to my husband who handles the stress better than I.
    7. I vote for Jesus Messiah too.
    8. No, even though nobody would recognize me, that’s not enough money.
    9. A christian science-fiction about a disease and nobody wanting the cure to this deadly thingy.

  17. 1. Changing a light bulb that is above my head. I’m afraid it’s gonna break and the glass will get into my eyes.
    2. I love the coffee we serve in the Living Room. I spend about $20 a month. If I didn’t spend the money on coffee I would need major pain killers for the caffeine headaches.
    3. Mini-Donkeys in our pasture! My hubbie calls them expensive lawn ornaments.
    4. Personal Chef! I would love to have amazing, healthy food eat every meal of the day. Plus, I am WAY too picky about how things are cleaned.
    5. Right heal.
    6. Glance at them and toss ‘um in the file.
    7. Shout to the Lord.
    8. NEVER, not even in a bathing suit!!!!!!!!
    9. How to keep things “spicy” in your marriage!

  18. 1. Hrm..height, I suppose but not that bad.
    2. I just started drinking coffee, partly to keep up w/ the demands of Grad school. Haven’t settled on a brand, but there’s a cafe that just opened down the street that has really good, strong lattes. They’re about $3. I’d probably spend it on eating out, if not coffee.
    3. Hostess Chocolate Cupcakes
    4. Masseusse; I like cooking for myself, I don’t have a house or a landscape. but I do have stress and bad posture.
    5. Left Knee, I think I hurt snowboarding…
    6. If by retirement account statements you mean student loan balances, I tend to file them away without looking too closely at the box marked “Interest accrued”
    7. Be Thou My Vision
    8. Yes. Why? did someone offer? Remember that student loan thing?
    9. A philosophical examination of the Writing and writing theory of David Milch, the writer behind NYPD Blue, Deadwod and John From Cincinnati.

  19. 1. Public Speaking.
    2. I can’t drink coffee. I miss it.
    3. Sometimes I listen to Weird Al Yanchovic on my iPod.
    4. Housekeeper. Cleaning house is such a boring waste of time. I like wasting it in other more interesting ways.
    5. I can’t really say I have any aches or pains at this time other than the heartache over last Sunday’s sermon from the missionary to Africa.
    6. When they arrive, I wish they were adding up to be enough to retire on.
    7. I love you Lord.
    8. No. $1,500? Waaaaay to low. How much does it cost to bulk mail 100,000 blindfolds?
    9. “101 Ways to Eat Pizza.” I’m still researching this book.

  20. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.
    Heights
    What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?
    Folgers. Buy Lemon Lift Tea. Coffee is not a big factor in my life.

    What is one of your guilty pleasures?
    Don’t really believe in them, unless you mean actual sins. Why should I feel guilty about something I enjoy (that is not a sin), a la Carpenters albums? To answer the question, though, I will say, my thought life when Kary Byron is on a segment of Mythbusters. Or Giada on the Food Channel. You get the idea.

    Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.
    Housekeeper

    What part of your body hurts most?
    Hurts who? Me or the people who have to look at it?

    What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?
    I get retirement account statements in the mail?

    Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.
    Serious this time: John Barcanic’s Exalt the Name of Jesus.

    Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.
    The Shaw story about “We’ve already established what kind of woman you are; we’re just arguing about price” comes to mind. I’d say yes, considering I could double the money from people paying me to put clothes back on. (But if you mean right now, no way I’m doing that in Chicago in that temperature. Although it does give you a built in explanation for, never mind.)

    When you write your first book, what will it be about?
    About 120 pages (Thank you Mad Magazine). Seriously, though, I’d say Alternatives to Public Education.

  21. 1. Getting shot. I’m serious. Getting shot, or falling from any height.
    2. Anything that comes in a mug at a diner or breakfast place– free refils. With the money I spend at St. Arbucks though I could probably get a better apartment or something.
    3. Pop punk music circa 2001, 2002.
    4. Housekeeper I guess; I’m assuming he/she does laundry?
    5. Knees. It’s perpetual.
    6. Pile them, envelope and all. Sometimes I open one and think, “This money is mine? And I coulda had it now? Huh.”
    7. Wonderful, Merciful Savior.
    8. Are you kidding me. It’s -22 degrees outside. My eyeballs hurt when they’re exposed. I’ve grown accustomed to my fingers and toes, I’d like to keep them.
    9. Not sure yet but I hope it’s funny.

  22. 1- no idea
    2- Starbucks Cafe Mocha. not much maybe $10 in a “good” month. but will drink a pot a day of Folgers.
    3- spending too much time on the computer
    4- housekeeper- so i could spend less time cleaning, more time with hubby and kids
    5- head, i get a lot of headaches
    6- don’t get them
    7- This is the Day
    8- no, not for that amount of money
    9- seeing God through trials of life. when others say it can’t happen but yet it does. also seeing God in the everyday things

  23. 1. Heights
    2. Don’t drink coffee
    3. Christian Fiction – i read way too fast for the price of the books – but i still love reading them.
    4. Personal chef – would love to not have to think about what to make/serve each night.
    5. Shoulder
    6. File before opening
    7. Our God Reigns
    8. NEVER
    9. First book will be Christian fiction – so many ideas on the topic and we were supposed to be brief 🙂

  24. 1. Heights
    2. Fave – Venti Peppermint Soy Latte extra hot, no foam – I don’t buy them anymore (rarely), extra $$ -what’s that???
    3. Chocolate
    4. housekeeper – well, duh! who likes to clean?
    5. tummy
    6. Throw them in their file, unopened
    7. Everything Glorious
    8. NO! – I won’t even wear shorts for $1,500!! You’ll have to up the ante…
    9. I.D. Me – but I’d shamelessly plagiarize your sermon notes!

  25. Hey Bill – you’ve changed the (blog) subject a couple times now, but haven’t answered the questions yourself… Your turn!! 🙂

  26. Hey, thanks for the great, hilarious, thoughtful, funny self-revelations.
    V, my plan was to do mine today, but I felt burdened to do some pastoring around the air-craft ditching. So, I’ll share my answers Monday, Okay?

    Thanks again. Very cool answers, very smart maxgrace readers.

  27. This is hilarious…

    1. phobia: doing a true “face plant” and either ramming my teeth into the cement or biting through my lip.
    2. coffee: Decaf Iced coconut Latte from Yaks – Made by me (most people can’t get it quite right) I spend less than $2-$5 a week and if I weren’t drinking it, It’d just stay in my bank account and go to other stuff
    3. Guilty pleasure: See question 2 and long hot showers
    4. Landscaper – because I’d want to look at beautiful flower gardens and eat fresh vegetables from a well tended garden, all the time.
    5. hurting body – Hands… They are always cold and they are dry from doing dishes
    6. Don’t have a retirement fund
    7. I want to hear “In Christ Alone”
    8. No… most definitely no.
    9. When I write a book it will be a children’s book about how God created everything to be unique and how much he loves the beauty of it all. It’ll be mostly pictures.

  28. Pingback: My Turn… « maxgrace.com

Comments are closed.