My Turn…

publicspeakingThank you to everybody who shared their answers to the “A Few Questions…” blog. My turn…

  1. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.
    Public Speaking.  This is what might call “ironical” if ironical were a word. I do a minor freak-out before every time I preach or speak. It’s not as bad as it used to be–I was sick to my stomach my first year of preaching–but it’s still there.This is one reason I’m so prepared. I figure that even if my brain turns pasta fagiole, I can still read a sermon manuscript. Sometimes I have bad dreams about being unprepared in the pulpit. Back in my Chicago days, our church helped out at a big Christmas Feed–probably 1,000 street people eating and 150 serving. Pastor Jim Queen grabbed my arm and said, “Why don’t you preach a little, Bill.” Panic gripped me. I slapped his hand off my arm and said, “No way!” He looked puzzled. I smiled cordially and said, “I’m not prepared.” Impromptu speaking feels like death to me.
    Click here to read my first mind-dump on public speaking.

    Also, fear of heights and fear of long, high bridges with low guard rails.

  2. coffeeWhat’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what  would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?
    That’s easy: “Sugar-free, blended mocha, extra shot, decaf, breve, plus one pink.” Got all that? My local coffee shop, YAKS, has it memorized. Some people say I’m picky. I say I’m self-aware.

    I don’t spend money on this drink because I get it free. I have incriminating information about the owners, and they agreed… Kidding. Mike and Nan are wonderful people and gave me a drink card. If I weren’t spending coffee money, I’d put it toward my kids’ college funds.

  3. What is one of your guilty pleasures?
    Dan Brown’s books (he wrote the DaVinci Code and a few others). The guy’s as anti-Christian as they come, but he writes page-turners. Never mind the factual inaccuracies.
    I also think Punk’d is funny. Desperate Housewives too. Janet Evanovich wrote a book on how she writes, and it’s hilariously profane. Sorry.

  4. Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.
    Landscaper. Our house is 2 years old, and it’s still 75% not landscaped.

  5. shoulder-painWhat part of your body hurts most?
    Right shoulder. Wanna hear all about it? Sure! Thirty years ago, I had one of those surgeries to correct chronic dislocations (hundreds of full dislocations in the R shoulder). That worked fine, and no more problems. Last summer, in preparation for Africa, I got a bunch of vaccinations. One in my right shoulder, eleven (or so)  in my left. I got the normal soreness in my shoulders, and on the right side, it never went away. Dr Dave Thompson (medical missionary in Africa) told me that the antibodies my shoulder produced 30 years ago, lay dormant all that time. The shot I got woke them up. Great! Sometimes it keeps me up at night. So, if I wave at you and look like I’m imitating John McCain, I’m not. My shoulder won’t go that high right now.

  6. What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?
    I shred them unopened. Too depressing. I look online at my statements at least quarterly.
  7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.
    Long Live the King, by Aaron Shust… the louder the better. Great lyrics. Great energy.

  8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.
    Nope. Streaking is so 80’s. Plus, I have to “Golden Rule” this situation. Would I want my kids to see some dude walking naked down the street? No. Would I want my kids to, as adults, walk naked down the street for money? No. Would I want my kids to fail to learn about appropriate boundaries and privacy? No. Would I want my kids to ever sell their bodies, or views of their bodies, for money? No. Modesty is a function of self-respect. Plus, I’d have to lose about 30 pounds before I’d even consider it.  (Please file your complaints here).

  9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?
    A pastor who thwarts a third murder by a psychopathic judge, without violating priest-penitent privilege.
    Oh wait… it will be about the rowdy forces in the human heart that sabotage the life of our dreams, and make us miss God’s best. A lot like this one… click.

Anyone else ready to jump into the pool?  Use the numbers. Be brief. Thanks.

messcover

8 thoughts on “My Turn…

  1. 1. Posting on the internet…. I can’t really go into it here.
    2. Dutch Bros. Café Americana…$2.00… If it weren’t spent there I would invest it on more fishing tackle which did not catch fish. A guy can never have too much of that.
    3. A cigar with the guys in the evening after dinner. Yes, I do know it’s bad for me, I am married, my wife and my mother-in-law love to remind us that we are being self destructive and foolish as we indulge. Eventually the smoke drives them away.
    4. Landscaper, because it is dirty hard work.
    5. See answer #1
    6. I chart them on a spreadsheet and worry obsessively about growing old.
    7. Amazing Grace.
    8. No – Saying yes even once establishes your character, after that you are just dickering over the price.
    9. People, nothing else is as interesting.

  2. Alright, I’m game:

    1. Name a phobia that makes your palms sweat.
    Commenting on other people’s blogs. It just seems so … permanent. Used to be flying, but God’s done some amazing work there. Seriously? Probably snakes or any of a number of other ugly reptiles.

    2. What’s your favorite coffee and how much do you spend on it, and what would you do with the money if you weren’t gulping in down?
    White chocolate mocha from a place here in Sioux Falls called the Black Sheep Bistro. Once a week, every Sunday whether I need it or not (most times I need it), I spend $4 on it.

    3. What is one of your guilty pleasures?
    Um, define “guilty.”
    Since we can’t get anything like Chicago pizza here, my guilty pleasure-O-meter has fallen precipitously. I guess Panaera cobblestones are doing their best to fill the gap.

    4. Pick only one and tell why: the unlimited use of a personal chef, housekeeper, masseuse, or landscaper.
    Definitely housekeeper. My wife would love me forever. (Not that she doesn’t already, er … you know what I mean.)

    5. What part of your body hurts most?
    My left thumb. Have no idea why.

    6. What do you do with the retirement account statements that come in the mail?
    Retirement account? Is that Christian? 🙂

    7. Name a worship song you’d like to sing this week at church.
    Mighty to Save (Hillsongs)

    8. Would you walk naked down a busy street in your home town, 1/2 mile, for $1,500? Explain.
    Waddyanuts? In today’s economy $1,500 wouldn’t get me to take my shirt off in public.

    9. When you write your first book, what will it be about?
    “Confident Living in a Chaotic World” A look at how the names and actions of God can impact our everyday lives.

  3. Bill,
    re your answers:
    1: Poetic Justice: Sometimes your sermons make my palms sweat, so it’s only fitting that yours are sweaty too. also, Courage: Moving into your fears. Nice.
    2: Make sure that you report the value of your fru-fru coffee drink on your 1040, line 21, “other income.” I already told my friends a the IRS to be on the lookout.
    3: I like Dan Brown, too. Creepy.
    4: Can you spray asbestos on your shrubs? Something to think about.
    5: Remember when you told me the surgery wasn’t worth it? Did I ever thank you for that advice?
    6: You can also use them to kindle an insurance fire.
    7: I listened online. Good song.
    8: Nice combination of false piety and hypocrisy. Mmm-mmm Good!
    9: Sounds like a Dan Brown book.

    Bob

  4. I am glad that your stage courage has you make detailed notes! I love being able to review them when I need to refresh the teaching again. My note taking isn’t what it used to be!
    Thanks..

  5. This looks fun (blog reading and responding on a saturday afternoon=my favorite!!):
    1. speaking when i should just be quiet and listen.
    2. i love the vanilla coffee that Wendy (my boss) makes at work, with french vanilla creamer! so good and free to me!
    3. buying/renting seasons of television shows on DVD and staying up all night to watch them. I also love to watch The Hills and The City on MTV. 🙂
    4. personal chef: cause i’d eat well and maybe a little more healthy than if i cooked for myself every day. and it’d save so much time.
    5. today: my throat cause i have some kind of flu thing. but no chronic pain, praise the Lord!
    6. I’m pretty sure I just file them. Or mail them to my Dad so he can look over them and make sure I’m not doing dumb things 🙂
    7. lead me to the cross: Hillsong United–so good! so good!
    8. no thank you
    9. life and love. i would tell stories what i’ve learned and what i’d like to learn. i love stories!

  6. 1. Mtn. Lions eating me.
    2. The irony is that I don’t like coffee but I still have yours memorized.
    3. Adrenaline, most of the time accompanied by a 2 wheeled vehicle.
    4. Masseuse- I play and work hard, I hurt.
    5. Back
    6. Retirement account?
    7.Sweetly Broken- Jeremy Riddle
    8. Nope, I know way to many of the people in Redding to do that.
    9. 300 pages long

    I miss you friend and hope that life is treating you well.
    -Caleb

Comments are closed.