Faith, Capacity, and a Book Signing

big-mouthGod says, “Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.” (Psalm 81:10).  It seems to be God’s policy that he fills what we give him to fill.

When a woman was on her last penny, Elisha the prophet… “said, “Go, borrow vessels from everywhere, from all your neighbors–empty vessels; do not gather just a few.” (2 Ki 4:3).  He then told her to pour her little vial of oil into those gathered vessels.  She would become a commodities broker.

The widow followed the directions and poured her little vial of oil into those vessels till they were full.  It wasn’t till she ran out of vessels that the oil stopped.

“Now it came to pass, when the vessels were full, that she said to her son, “Bring me another vessel.” And he said to her, “There is not another vessel.” So the oil ceased.” 2 Kings 4:6, NKJV.

The only limit on her capacity for blessing was her own FAITH.  How many vessels would she gather?  How many vessels would she trust God to fill?

On Saturday, I had a book signing at Barnes and Noble. I had thought about ordering extra books for the event, but decided not to. I didn’t want [expensiveostrichmouth] excess inventory on my hands, and I figured the store would have a supply.

It turns out that the store had run out, so my books were it.  Fifty-four books in all.  Over the course of two hours, all fifty-four books sold.

Explain this:  the last person in line bought the last book.  There were no extra books. There were no extra people. When the books stopped… the people ceased.

Chance? Coincidence? Au contraire…

Here’s my explanation:  God honors  faith. He is willing to give us what we’re willing to trust him for. I trusted him for 54 books, and he sent 54 buyers (actually fewer because some bought mulitples, which makes the whole thing even more providential…)

I know, this isn’t a fixed rule. Sometimes our faith is big, and we end up with lots of unsold books… but I wonder if that’s not because of unhealthy or weird factors beyond my control.  God still loves the faith… even when it seemingly goes disappointed.

I’m gonna do some jaw stretches: if God’s going to fill my mouth, I want to open really, really wide.

babybigmouthCool footnote:  the bookstore was super-excited by the response.  They said it was their best book signing ever.  THANK YOU to everyone who stopped by.

5 thoughts on “Faith, Capacity, and a Book Signing

  1. That is so great! What a testimony to our community! I was going to stop by but couldn’t get there in time. Rats 😦

  2. I agree about the faith and vessels! Whenever I stepped out in faith and bought flowers for the store without any orders….even my last 100$ God was always faithful and I would sell out. My pea brain would forget that so many times though…..thanks for the reminder and Congrats on the success.

Comments are closed.