And the Winner Is…

A big thank you to everyone who participated in the Caption Contest for this picture.  With 80 entries, it was tough. So many really good ones! After much agonizing, analyzing, analogizing, and other things that begin with ana-, our impartial panel of judges I has have reached a decision.

First, the runners up… These entries made the final cut. You should be proud of yourselves!!! For your labors, you are the proud winners of A FREE LINK! (CLICK IT, GO AHEAD, RUNNERS UP ONLY). Enter this super-secret password: winner

  • Upon reflection, Diego decided that free range cattle branding wasn’t such a “hot” idea after all… (KENNY)
  • PERSEVERANCE: The courage to keep putting one foot in front of the other in the face of certain doom. (JOSH)
  • If you think this photographer’s interpretation of “the cow jumped over the moon” is original and bold, you should see what he does with Hot Cross Buns. (MATT)
  • ‘Where bull movements and bowel movements meet.’ (JOSH)
  • Expecting the world to be fair to you because you are a good person is like expecting the bull not to charge because you are a vegetarian. (DONNY)

Are you ready for the big REVEAL?  The GRAND PRIZE, FREE, AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF HOW TO KEEP YOUR INNER MESS FROM TRASHING YOUR OUTER WORLD goes to…

ANNE!!!! For her entry:

See Dick. See Dick watch cow jump. See Dick run. Run, Dick, run! Where Jane? Jane not stupid enough to swim with mad cow on loose. Spot taking nap under lifeguard stand. Lifeguard busy watching girls in bikinis. Run, Dick, run! (ANNE)

So, congratulations, and thanks… and Anne, leave a comment below (put your email address in the appropriate box so I get it without revealing it to the world of freaks out there, not that any freaks read my blog, but you never know), and I’ll get you your super-special, gilt-edged, special edition book!!!!

3 thoughts on “And the Winner Is…

  1. A tip of my cubbie blue chapeau to Anne, and to all the captioning runner(s)-up(s) (?) I am proud to have be considered worthy to have competed with, and lost to the likes of you. You, you great captains of captioning, have caused me to plum the depths of the heights of wordsmithery. Because of you, I hang my head in shame, but for a moment, as I, along with legions of blue-hatted-losers-from-a-large-lake-shored-midwestern-city-with-a-crappy-national-league-team say, “Wait ’til next year.”

  2. Wow–that wasn’t even my official entry! It pays to take a chance and do something just for fun once in a while. There were so many good entries (and so many really bad ones!) that I am humbled by this great honor. And I know someone who really needs to read the book but I was reluctant to loan out my only remaining copy of it any more! Now I will have a spare. (Except in the summer when Bob will have custody of it.)

    • Annie, I sent you an email at this address, so please check it and let me know about how you’d like to pick up your prize copy of How to Keep Your Inner Mess from Trashing Your Outer World.

Comments are closed.