Ramping UP

The ladder is temporary. The green canvas is a sun-shade awning.

Hey, sorry for the big gap between posts. Summers used to be lazy, hazy, crazy days; now they’re just crazy. I feel like I’ve been sprinting for the last couple of months. Building plans for church. Seeking God for resources for that. Figuring out ways to embrace every person that God sends to Neighborhood Church so they experience God’s love… even when sometimes we feel out of space. Then planning 10 talks for Alliance Redwoods High School Camp. What an awesome privilege! Over 30 students responded to the invitation to receive Christ on Wed nite.

My family has been extra-patient, and my children know me as the guy with the laptop glued to his lap… so I promised a treehouse when I came home from camp.  It’s a work in progress, but here it is. I started the 2nd day after camp, and have been adding cool stuff every couple of days.

A fully functional trap door. You can open it from the ground level (the purple rope). Then you climb up the green rope.

Trap door, viewed from ground level.

Favorite thing: an 8-foot wide sling shot (you can see the surgical tubing) to fire tennis balls.

Other cool stuff:

  • Flags… pirate for my son, ladybugs for my daughter
  • Mailbox… for secret deliveries.
  • Bucket… rope and pulley.
  • Climbing rope… soft rope w/knots
  • Swings (x2)
  • Entry bell… loud, ground level.
  • Triangle bell… medium, upper level
  • Canvas sun shade.
  • Tube of Deliverance… a 25-foot long corrugated pipe that winds around and drops golf balls into the bucket.
  • Singshot… 8-foot wide, surgical tubing, shoots tennis balls hundreds of feet.
  • Coming soon: slide, plank (as in “walk the…”), crow’s nest, fireman’s pole, and whatever else comes to mind.

Whew! Kids love it. Margi loves it. I love it.  I just hope the wildlife doesn’t love it! Kids are already begging to sleep over night… Oh yay!

Heading to Chicago (YAY!) in a few weeks for my nieces wedding. My kids are standing up, I’m officiating, and my wife’s coordinating.  A good time will be had by all. Lou Malnati’s pizza, get a table ready for me!

Yep, we’re already planning for the fall and beyond at church, so keep us in prayer!  God is doing amazing things through the people of our church, and I’m so excited. I’m also involved in the growing A.W. Tozer Theological Seminary, and that’s been awesome. A few writing projects in various stages of evaluation, too. Other stuff as well, but I finally feel I can come up for some air.

Maxgrace.com has been wooing me back, begging, beckoning, at times even nagging, so here I am. Thanks for hanging in there with me.

Bill

5 thoughts on “Ramping UP

  1. Oh yeah, it’s composite decking. No splinters and no rotting wood. The rest is redwood. It floats between the two trees, so they can sway in the wind w/o crunching the treehouse.

    Good times…

  2. Bill – That is superb, makes me want to be a kid again. As a dad I can tell you that it always warms my heart when my kids say they had a great childhood, those are priceless memories.

  3. I think it is very cool that you are building a mega incredible fort for your kids! All the things you mentioned sound really great! They will always remember that you did that for them. Glad it is turning out so well.

  4. Nothing like a good building project. In the middle of building an extension to our deck off the back porch. My kids are not old enough yet to know about a tree house but I fear in time they will be asking dad to build them one.

Comments are closed.