Bible’s Top Ten Grace Interventions, pt 1

Grace is traumatic. Grace is a crisis. It’s a massive reversal of everything you thought about God. I use the word intervention on purpose. An intervention is an “in your face confrontation.” An intervention is a direct challenge to your status quo. In psychology, an intervention is a last ditch effort to persuade a person to deal with a blind spot that’s wrecking their lives.

Do you realize that nobody in the Bible ever understood grace without an intervention? Without a smack upside the head, or a kick in the seat of the pants? Do you realize that, in the Bible, no Pharisee ever thought being a Pharisee was a problem?

By nature, people are blind to grace. We’re natural-born legalists. There’s a grace- blackout in the soul. So God has to come in an knock some grace into us. A Grace Intervention.

Here are my Top Ten Grace Interventions in the Bible.

10. Moses

Grace Deficit Disorder: I am not eloquent enough to persuade Pharaoh to let God’s people go.

Grace Intervention: ““Now therefore, go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall say.”” Exodus 4:12, NKJV.

9. Jonah

Grace Deficit Disorder: I am so ticked off that God saved those nasty people of Nineveh that I wish I could die.

Grace Intervention: You’re more worried about a dying plant than about 120,000 spiritually dying people who don’t know their spiritual right hand from their spiritual left. “But the LORD said, “You have been concerned about this vine, though you did not tend it or make it grow. It sprang up overnight and died overnight. But Nineveh has more than a hundred and twenty thousand people who cannot tell their right hand from their left, and many cattle as well. Should I not be concerned about that great city?”” Jonah 4:10, 11, NIV.

8. Mephibosheth

Grace Deficit Disorder: “Then he bowed himself, and said, “What is your servant, that you should look upon such a dead dog as I?”” 2 Samuel 9:8, NKJV.

Grace Intervention: “As for Mephibosheth,” said the king, “he shall eat at my table like one of the king’s sons.”” 2 Samuel 9:11, NKJV.

7. David

Grace Deficit Disorder: “Hey God, my house is better than your house, so I will build a house for you! Yes!” [The prophet Nathan: “You Go David!”]

Grace Intervention: “Hey David, did I ever ask you to build a house for me? Here’s the basic idea of your whole crazy life: I WILL BUILD A HOUSE FOR YOU.” [The prophet Nathan: “I guess I got the whole thing backwards.”]

“Then King David went in and sat before the LORD; and he said: “Who am I, O LORD God? And what is my house, that You have brought me this far?” 1 Chronicles 17:16, NKJV.

6. Naomi

Grace Deficit Disorder: “Woe is me. God is against me. Call me Misery.” “But she said to them, “Do not call me Naomi; call me Mara, for the Almighty has dealt very bitterly with me.” Ruth 1:20, NKJV.

Grace Intervention: “And may he be to you a restorer of life and a nourisher of your old age; for your daughter-in-law, who loves you, who is better to you than seven sons, has borne him.” Ruth 4:15, NKJV.

I’ll save the top five Grace Interventions for tomorrow’s post, part 2.


This post goes along with the Grace Intervention Series at Neighborhood Church. You can watch that message here:

 

2 thoughts on “Bible’s Top Ten Grace Interventions, pt 1

  1. Spot on! And that is why we study the Old Testament along with the New, to see the character and attributes of God consistently displayed through history. We do worship a GREAT God

Comments are closed.